Institute Fellows

Fellows of the Institute for Human-Animal Connection (IHAC) at the University of Denver Graduate School of Social Work are off-site, national and international scholars studying human-animal relationships. IHAC Fellows consult on research proposals and ongoing research, post their current and developing research, disseminate information on human-animal interaction issues from their region or country of residence, provide advice to our graduate students (MSW and PhD.), and participate in a by-invitation-only forum on matters of academic interest to their colleagues. Fellows also share our hope for contributing to the shaping of a new cadre of young professionals who would devote their academic careers to this fascinating field.

 

Alan M. Beck, Sc.D.

Alan M. Beck, Sc.D.
Professor and Director
Center for the Human-Animal Bond
Purdue University
School of Veterinary Medicine
725 Harrison St
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2027
Email: abeck@purdue.edu

Dr. Andrea M. Beetz

Dr. Andrea M. Beetz
Diplom-Psychologin
Schillerstr. 28A
91054 Erlangen, Germany
Email: andrea.beetz@gmail.com

Barbara Walling Boat, PhD

Barbara Walling Boat, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center
Executive Director- The Childhood Trust
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
311 Albert Sabin Way, Floor R
Cincinnati, OH 45229
Email: boatbw@ucmail.uc.edu

Susan Clayton, PhD

Susan Clayton
Whitmore-Williams Professor of Psychology & Chair of Environmental Studies
Department/Affiliation: Psychology, Environmental Studies
The College of Wooster
Morgan 107, 930 College Mall
Wooster, OH 44691
Email: sclayton@wooster.edu

Dr. Beth Daly

Dr. Beth Daly
University of Windsor
Faculty of Education (Elementary Education Generalist)
Winsor, ON N9B 3P4
Email: bethdaly@uwindsor.ca

Dr. Marie-José Engers-Slegers

Dr.Marie-José Enders-Slegers, Ph.D
Department Clinical and Health Psychology
Faculty of Social Sciences
University of Utrecht
Email: m.j.enders@uu.nl
Additional Website: http//www.taskforce-hg-dm.nl

Catherine A. Faver, PhD, LMSW

Catherine A. Faver, Ph.D., LMSW
Professor
Department of Social Work
University of Texas Pan-American
1201 W. University Dr.
Edinburg, TX 78539
Email: cfaver@utpa.edu

Dr. Aubrey Fine

Dr. Aubrey Fine
Professor -CEIS
Department of Education
CA Poly State University,
Pomona, CA
Email: ahfine@csupomona.edu
Websites:
www.csupomona.edu/~ahfine
www.aubreyhfine.com

Clifton P. Flynn, PhD

Clifton P. Flynn, PhD
Professor of Sociology
Chair, Department of Sociology,
Criminal Justice and Women's Studies
USC Upstate
800 University Way
Spartanburg, SC 29303
Email: cflynn@uscupstate.edu

Erika Friedmann, PhD

Erika Friedmann, PhD
Professor
University of Maryland School of Nursing
655 W. Lombard Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Email: friedmann@son.umaryland.edu

Eleonora Gullone, PhD, FAPS

Eleonora Gullone, PhD, FAPS
Associate Professor
School of Psychology and Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Sciences,
Monash University
Monash Vic.,
Australia, 3800
Email:Eleonora.Gullone@monash.edu
Additional Research Website 

Dr. Brinda Jegatheesan

Dr. Brinda Jegatheesan
Assistant Professor
Educational Psychology
University of Washington
322 J Miller Hall, Box 353600
Seattle, WA 98195
Email: brinda@uw.edu

Rebecca Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN

Rebecca Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Millsap Professor of Gerontological Nursing
MU Sinclair School of Nursing
Director-Research Center for Human Animal Interaction
MU College of Veterinary Medicine
Clydesdale Annex #2
Columbia, MO 65211
Email: rajohnson@missouri.edu

Randall Lockwood, PhD

Randall Lockwood, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President
Forensic Sciences and Anti-Cruelty Projects
ASPCA®
2214 Tulip Drive
Falls Church, VA 22046
Email: randalll@aspca.org

Gail F. Melson, PhD

Gail F. Melson, PhD
Professor Emerita of Developmental Studies
Purdue University
101 Gates Road
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2020
Email: melsong@purdue.edu

Dr. Lila Miller, DVM

Dr. Lila Miller, DVM
Vice- President, Veterinary Advisor
Veterinary Outreach
ASPCA®
520 Eighth Ave 7th floor
New York, NY 10018
Email: lilam@aspca.org

Camilla Pagani, PhD

Camilla Pagani, PhD
Researcher
Institute of Cognitive Sciences and Technologies (ISTC),
National Research Council,
Via San Martino della Battaglia 44, 00185 Rome, Italy
Email: Camilla.pagani@istc.cnr.it

Dr. Christina Risley-Curtiss, MSSW

Dr. Christina Risley-Curtiss, MSSW
Associate Professor
Arizona State University
Department of Public Programs
School of Social Work
Fellow, Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics
Co-Director, Child Welfare Training Project
Founder/Director, Children and Animals Together
Affiliate, Women and Gender Studies Program
411 N.Central Ave, Ste 800
MC 3920
Phoenix, AZ 85004-0689
Email: Risley.Curtiss@asu.edu
ASU Animal Human Bond website

Ian Robertson

Ian Robertson
Director, International Animal Law

Dr. Bernard Rollin


Dr. Bernard Rollin

Professor of Philosophy
Professor of Animal Sciences
Professor of Biomedical Sciences
University Bioethicist
Office: 240 Eddy Hall,
Colorado State University,
Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1781
Email: Bernard.Rollin@colostate.edu

Professor Hajime Tanida

Professor Hajime Tanida
Field Education and Research Center
Graduate School of Biosphere Science
1-4-4, Kagamiyama, Higashi-Hiroshima
739-8528 JAPAN
Email: htanida@hiroshima-u.ac.jp

Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., PhD

Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., PhD
Assistant Scientist
Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions
Department of Health Policy and Management
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
624 N. Broadway, Ste 309
Baltimore, MD 21205-1999
Email: rthorpe@jhsph.edu

Akimitsu Yokoyama, M.D.

Akimitsu Yokoyama, M.D.
Teikyo University of Science
Department of Animal Sciences
2525 Yatsusawa Uenohara-shi,
Yamanashi 409-0193 Japan
Email: yokoyama@ntu.ac.jp